Chapter 23 by James Garside
Chapter 23 by James Garside
Testing, testing, one two three...
4
0:00
-1:06

Testing, testing, one two three...

4

A bit back I recorded my voice without the aid of an external microphone.

It sounded horrendous, as you might imagine, but I wasn’t allowed to buy an external microphone until I read something out loud and recorded it. 

How did it sound?

Let’s just say I’m available for voice-over work if anyone needs the voice of a creepy serial killer Clown that lost his voice in a scuba-diving accident.

I hate the sound of my own voice but I wanted to test the default microphone that’s built into my laptop.

It's me reading The Journey by Mary Oliver. Badly. In the bath. Or at least that's what it sounds like.

I did it in one take.

Why am I sharing it with you?

To highlight that I can send you audio — in the newsletter and as a podcast.

So that you can hear my voice.

So that when I record with a microphone you have something to compare it to.

I want to know what you think of the sound quality.

I want to know if you’d like to hear from me more often.

If I had a podcast what would you most like to hear?

I’ve got a microphone and I’m not afraid to use it.

Ok, that last bit isn’t true.

I do have a microphone but I’m terrified to use it.

That’s why I’m testing the waters.

Testing, testing, one two three…

4 Comments
Chapter 23 by James Garside
Chapter 23 by James Garside
Become evil. Rule the world. Maybe drink tea first and sit down for a bit.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Garside