Chapter 23 by James Garside
Chapter 23 by James Garside
Would you listen to a podcast of robots reading my writing?
12
0:00
-2:10

Would you listen to a podcast of robots reading my writing?

This article was read by a robot
12

Would you listen to a podcast of robots reading my writing?

This article was read by a robot.

0:00
-2:10



Ok, ok, it was read by an artificial voice. But you know what I mean.

Do you think people would listen to a podcast of audio articles read using text-to-speech?

Because I could totally make that happen.

I could certainly make it happen a lot faster than reading everything myself when I don’t have a microphone, or money, or know the first thing about podcasting yet.

Be honest. Would you listen to it?

People keep telling me I should start a podcast or a YouTube channel or both. Ok, one of those people who keeps telling me that is me. But I’m not sure the world is ready for my Yorkshire accent or a podcast of me sat by myself reading things out aloud.

Maybe that’s just the imposter syndrome talking.

Did I mention that I get scared when I do public speaking and have in the past gone to great lengths to avoid it? I think that might be key.

But in my head this makes total sense:

Phase 1: Use text-to-speech to do audio articles of all my work. Podcast that, turn it into YouTube videos, or whatever. Learn how to use each platform.

Phase 2: At some point start recording stuff myself. Once I’ve learnt the ropes.

Phase 3: Profit.

Please let me know what you think. Both to the idea and to the recording.

I used a freebie from ElevenLabs for this story. The voice sounds posher than Stephen Fry.

Whatever I do end up dong it will be cobbled together with bits of string.

I’m just a monkey with a typewriter and a head full of dreams.

Lots of love,

James

Chapter 23 by James Garside is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

12 Comments
Chapter 23 by James Garside
Chapter 23 by James Garside
Become evil. Rule the world. Maybe drink tea first and sit down for a bit.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Garside